College of Business Administration

------------------------------------------------------------------------- --------------------------------

Seminar in Business Ethics and Social Institutions

------------------------------------------------------------------------- --------------------------------

Class Schedule:


FINAL EXAMINATION

29 May 2002 Course Overview Dunn
03 June 2002 Course Overview
The nature of capitalism and the corporate enterprise

Weiss, Chapter 4
Dienhart, Chapter 1

`Johnson Controls'

Dienhart, Chapter 7, CASE (pp. 338-353)

COMMONS GAME

DISCUSSION QUESTIONS

Dunn
05 June 2002 Overview of Ethical Theory

Weiss, Chapter 3
Deinhart, Chapters 2, 3
Newton & Ford, Issues 3, 12

Ethics Frameworks Definitions
Complete Guide to Ethics Management
Ethics Updates (provides updates on current literature, both popular and professional, that relates to ethics)
Le Guin, Ursula. `The Ones Who Walk Away from Omelas'

SURVEY OF ETHICAL THEORETIC APTITUDES

DISCUSSION QUESTIONS

Dunn
10 June 2002 A Critique of Capitalism

Dienhart, Chapter 4, 5
Newton & Ford, Issue 1

- `The Social Responsibility of Business is to Increase its Profits'
- 'Are Corporations Inherently Wicked?' (course handout)
- 'The Capitalist Threat'

Anatomy of a Hostile Takeover (The Annenberg/CPB Project Ethics in America Series)

DISCUSSION QUESTIONS

WRITING ASSIGNMENT 1 Due

Kamal Muilenburg kmuilenburg@earthlink.net
Sophie Druaux sophiefrancine@hotmail.com
Melody Hendricks melodyhendricks@hotmail.com
Rich Dinnean rtdinnean@hotmail.com
Mark Morrissey mcm444@hotmail.com
Melindaa Moran melindamoran@eudoramail.com
Matt Robinson matthewr@san.rr.com
12 June 2002 Rights and Duties of Employees

Weiss, Chapter 6
Newton & Ford, Issue 10

Drug Testing: Complying with Legal Requirements
Privacy and Trade Secrets
The National Employee Rights Institute
Restriction on Employement-at-Will

CONTRACTS & APPLICATION PROJECT
PROPOSALS DUE

DISCUSSION QUESTIONS

Lindsey McMurren-Riggs mcmurren-riggs@sdarc.org
Rob Litt roblitt@hotmail.com
Kristen King king@forwardventures.com
Panitnat panitnat@hotmail.com
17 June 2002 Rights and Duties of Consumers

Weiss, Chapter 5
Newton & Ford, Issue 6

On the Web, Price Tags Blur
Bitter Medicine
Bitter Medicine
Child abuse: Loophole lets advertisers sell what they want to kids
Consumer born every minute: One man got one hospital to kick the marketers out of the maternity ward

DISCUSSION QUESTIONS

WRITING ASSIGNMENT 2 Due

Mike Rewald MikeRewald@aol.com
Melanie Pettit melanie760@msn.com
Suzanne Vega zannystark@hotmail.com
Melissa Boan Melboan@aol.com
Patrick Fivaz patrick_fivaz@hotmail.com
Shweta Khanna shwetakh@hotmail.com
19 June 2002 International Business, Domination and Exploitation

Weiss, Chapter 7
Newton & Ford, Issues 13, 14, 15

Diamonds: A War's Best Friend
Just Stop It: NikeWatch

NIKE CASE SUMMARY

DISCUSSION QUESTIONS

Kelly Bobos kbobos@hotmail.com
Lyndon Harlin harlin_lyndon_e@cat.com
Marc Frederick frederim@spawar.navy.mil
Kevin Chen kevsdsu@yahoo.com
Jim Kemp jtk@msn.com
Burcu Kapadikligil kapadikligil@yahoo.com
Todd Sickinger tsickinger@ramseycompany.com
24 June 2002 Rights and Duties of Nature

Weiss, Chapter 5.5; 8.2
Newton & Ford, Issues 18, 19

What's Your Share of the Commons?

The Hidden Commons

The Social Responsibility Audit

Lessons from the Wreck of the Exxon Valdez...
Environmentalists Pose the Greatest Danger
Don't Trade Man for Nature
Crop Busters

CASE: Caltrans Working to Foil Runoff Effort, Groups Say

DISCUSSION QUESTIONS

WRITING ASSIGNMENT 3 Due

Amy Hallows amy.hallows@mcmcg.com
Amy Horne amy.horne@uniontrib.com
Cynthia Michael Cynthiajlm@ixpres.com
Kent Bruzzone kbruzzone@cymer.com
Dan Stoneman dstoneman@cox.net
Reyhan Cabuker reyhancabuker@hotmail.com
Marliese Hamm mhamm@reliefband.com
26 June 2002 Codes of Conduct: Uses and Abuses

Newton & Ford, Issue 2

Remember to bring a copy of your company's code of conduct with you to class...

WTA on Codes of Ethics
Guidance for Writing a Code of Ethics
Corporate Ethics: Right Makes Might
Johnson & Johnson Credo
Ethics Toolkit
Ethics at Texas Instruments
ACM Codes of Conduct
Compliance Programs and the U.S. Sentencing Guidelines
Josephson Institute on Ethical Decision-Making

NYNEX ('Code of Business Conduct' video)

DISCUSSION QUESTIONS

Matthew Hahn teamhahn@teamhahn.com
Dan Kinstler dpkinstler@nmcsd.med.navy.mil
Greg Miller talk2greg@hotmail.com
Dan DeLap DeLapMBA@aol.com
Gunes Eralp ERALPG@aol.com
Jed Brush Jcb32978@aol.com
Kyna Abel kabel@sandiego.edu
01 July 2002 CASE/APPLICATION PROJECT PRESENTATIONS

CASE/APPLICATION PROJECT WRITTEN DELIVERABLE DUE

03 July 2002 The Meaning of Work

What Comes Next?
Can Business Still Save the World?
The Hungry Spirit: Beyond Capitalism..., Chapters 8 & 9
Taylor, Fredrick. `The Principles of Scientific Management'
Terkel, Studs. 'Working'. (Chapter titles: Carl Murray Bates, Walter Lundquist, Donna Murray, Roberta Victor, Nora Watson)

DISCUSSION QUESTIONS

WRITING ASSIGNMENT 4 Due

TERM PAPERS DUE

(Papers will not be accepted without SELF-EVALUATION form attached)

Dunn


Return to Professor Dunn's home page.