Jump to Main Content
San Diego State University : Home department of linguistics and asian/middle eastern languages
SDSU Home
Department Home Majors & Minors TESL/TEFL Certificates COMPUTATIONAL LINGUISTICS CERTIFICATE Language Programs ESL Composition for International Students MA PROGRAMS Prospective Students Faculty & Staff Student Club Alumni News Contact US
Department Office:
Location:SHW 214
Office Hours: 8:00 am - 4:30 pm
Phone: (619) 594-5268
Fax: (619) 594-4877

To view pdf files you may need to download Adobe Reader.
Download Adobe Reader


Last Update: 7/3/14
 

Faculty & Staff

Administrative Coordinator-- Tanya Calienta
Phone: (619) 594-5268
Location: SHW 213

Douglas S. Bigham (Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin)
Sociolinguistics, phonetics, queer linguistics, dialect contact & accommodation, public understanding of linguistics, language & gender, language & sexuality, social-psychology of language, linguistic variation, language change.
Email: douglas.bigham@mail.sdsu.edu
Phone: (619) 594-6389
Location: SHW 236

Eniko Csomay (Ph.D., Northern Arizona University)
Corpus linguistics, spoken discourse analysis, language variation, classroom discourse.
Email: ecsomay@mail.sdsu.edu
Phone: (619) 594-7114
Location: SHW 246

Jean Mark Gawron (Ph.D. Berkeley)
Computational linguistics (parsing, pragmatic narrowing, machine translation); semantics (quantification, anaphora, comparatives, lexical semantics).
E-mail: gawron@mail.sdsu.edu
Phone: (619) 594-0252
Locaiton: SHW 238

Kelly Hansen (Ph.D., University of Hawaii)
Language discourse in early modern and modern Japanese literature.  New media forms and shifting writing conventions in contemporary Japanese.   Japanese and Asian film. 
E-mail: khansen@mail.sdsu.edu
Phone: (619) 594-8820
Location: SHW 220

Yoshiko Higurashi (Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin), Japanese Program Director
Phonology, accent and intonation, syllable structure, speech pathology, intercultural communication. Japanese language teaching.
Email: yhigurashi@mail.sdsu.edu
Phone: (619) 594-1005
Location: SHW 219

Jeffrey P. Kaplan (Ph.D., Penn)
Syntax, semantics, pragmatics, discourse. Forensic linguistics and application of linguistics to the language of the law.
Email: jkaplan@mail.sdsu.edu
Phone: (619) 594-5879
Location: SHW 250

Gregory D. Keating (Ph.D., University of Illinois at Chicago, Graduate Advisor

First, second, and heritage language acquisition, with an emphasis on Spanish; Sentence processing, with an emphasis on monolingual and bilingual Spanish speakers.

Email: gkeating@mail.sdsu.edu

Phone: (619) 594-8688

Location: SHW 234

Ryu Kitajima (Ph.D., SUNY Buffalo), Japanese Language Advisor
Teaching and learning strategies. Japanese language acquisition, teaching methodologies.
Email: rkitajima@mail.sdsu.edu
Phone: (619) 594-5524
Location: SHW 217

Rob Malouf (Ph.D., Stanford)
Computational linguistics, statistical natural language processing, machine learning, constraint-based grammar formalisms, morphosyntactic theory.
Email: rmalouf@mail.sdsu.edu
Phone: (619) 594-7111
Location: SHW 244

Ghada Osman (Ph.D., Harvard), Department Chair and Arabic Program Director
Classical Arabic & Islam, historical linguistics, Arabic & Islam in the U.S.
Email: gosman@mail.sdsu.edu
Phone: (619) 594-1910
Location: SHW 201

Yasmine Panahi, Administrative Coordinator for Graduate and TESL Certificate Coordinator
Email: ypanahi@mail.sdsu.edu
Phone: (619) 594-1915
Location: SHW 215
Office Hours: 8.00 am - Noon

Deborah Poole (Ph.D., USC), Coordinator, ESL Composition
Classroom discourse, ESL methodology, language socialization. Interest in the relationship of spoken and written language, especially in classroom literacy events.
Email: dpoole@mail.sdsu.edu
Phone: (619) 594-5914
Location: SHW 248

Gail Robinson (Ph.D., Stanford)
Second language acquisition and applied linguistics. Particular interest in relationship of first culture to second language and culture acquisition. Also interest in technology and language learning.
Email: grobinso@mail.sdsu.edu
Phone: (619) 594-6929
Location: AL-153

Betty Samraj (Ph.D., Michigan)
Discourse analysis and education, ESL methodology, ESL writing and testing, contrastive rhetoric, writing in the disciplines, especially environmental writing, systemic-functional linguistics.
Email: bsamraj@mail.sdsu.edu
Phone: (619) 594-5882
Location: SHW 240

Ruey-Jiuan Regina Wu (Ph.D., UCLA)
Conversation analysis; pragmatics; functional linguistics; language assessment; teaching methodologies and language pedagogy.
Email: rwu@mail.sdsu.edu
Phone: (619) 594-2735
Location: SHW 242

Zheng-sheng Zhang (Ph.D., Ohio State), Chinese Language Advisor
Chinese language structure (semantics, pragmatics, discourse analysis, dialects). Language pedagogy. Technology for language teaching.
Email:zzhang@mail.sdsu.edu
Phone: (619) 594-1912
Location: SHW 218

Emeritus Faculty

Zev bar-Lev (Ph.D., Indiana)
Second language acquisition, Hebrew, key-consonant theory, discourse, computers. Development of SILL (Sheltered Initiation Language Learning), his innovative method of teaching foreign languages.

Soonja Choi (Ph.D., Buffalo) Korean Program Director
Language acquisition and cognition. Cross-linguistic studies of the development of syntax, semantics, and morphology in first language acquisition with an emphasis on Korean and English.
Email: schoi@mail.sdsu.edu

Thomas Donahue (Ph.D. Ohio State)
Sociolinguistics and the history of English. Language planning, language and politics, and social structure of slang usage in the U.S. - Mexico border area.

Ann Johns (Ph.D. USC)
Materials design, ESL methodology. Interest in socio-cultural influences upon teaching and learning of second language reading and writing.

Robert Underhill (Ph.D., Harvard)
Descriptive linguistics. Primary interests in phonology, discourse and syntax. Language interests in Turkish, Native American, and Southeast Asian languages.

Charlotte Webb (Ph.D., Texas)
Second language acquisition. Identifying variables that contribute to L2 acquisition, and how these variables interact with biological aspects of language learning.

Lecturers

Atilio Alicio (PhD., Universiti Malaya, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia)
Teaching of Filipino Grammar, Language & Culture, Comparative Linguistics/Modern Languages
Email: aalicio@mail.sdsu.edu
Phone: (619) 594-8800
Location: SHW 203

Rebecca Egipto (M.A., San Diego State University)
Language and politics, first language acquisition
Email: regipto@mail.sdsu.edu
Phone: (619) 594-4187
Location: SHW 209

Youniss el Cheddadi (B.A. Adbdelmalek Saadi University, Tetouan, Morocco)
Second language acquisition, language assessment, curriculum development, teaching of Arabic language
Email: elcheddadi@hotmail.com
Phone: (619) 594-8800
Location: SHW 203

Haekyung Kim (M.A. San Diego State University)
Linguistics, teaching of Korean language and culture
Email: hkim@mail.sdsu.edu
Phone: (619) 594-3932
Location: SHW 207

Asuka Kuratani (M.A. San Diego State University)
Email: asuka.kuratani@cox.net
Phone: (619) 594-5352
Location: SHW 205

Paul Justice (M.A. San Diego State University)
Email: justice@mail.sdsu.edu
Phone: (619) 594-4187
Location: SHW 209

Alana Shuster, Hebrew Program Director
Email: Hebrew4all@aol.com
Phone: (619) 594-7114
Location: SHW 211

Qian Wang
Email: gnawnaiq@gmail.com
Phone: (619) 594-8801
Location: SHW 222

Ghassan Zakaria
Email: gzakaria@mail.sdsu.edu
Phone: (619) 594-8801
Location: SHW 222

Back To Top
The statements found on this page/site are for informational purposes only. While every effort is made to ensure that this information is up to date and accurate, official information can be found in the university publications.